A credible institution-grade staking platform with SOC 2 and a clean slashing record, but undisclosed fees, unresolved key-custody questions and the September 2025 incident (one client lost Solana funds; all ETH validators force-exited) make it a choice for buyers who can do full diligence.
Undisclosed fee schedule - value cannot be independently assessed
Key-custody contradiction between official non-custodial claim and user reports
// Review
by the bestcloudmining editorial desk · review version 2 · prose updated 2026-09-24 · facts as of 2026-09-24 · how we verify
Overview
Kiln is an institutional staking provider operating since 2018, offering non-custodial staking across 30+ PoS networks including Ethereum, Solana, and Cosmos. It targets enterprises, exchanges, and asset managers with SOC 2 Type II compliance and a claimed 0% slashing rate. However, its fee structure is entirely opaque, and a 2025 security incident that forced all Ethereum validators offline raises serious operational concerns.
What you can rent
You can stake on networks including ETH, SOL, ATOM, AVAX, TIA, SUI, NEAR, and APT through Kiln’s institutional staking platform. The offering includes dedicated validators (32 ETH minimum per validator) and whitelabel solutions. You do not rent hardware or compute; instead, you delegate stake to Kiln-operated validators. The product is non-custodial in name, but user reports question whether withdrawal keys are truly user-controlled. There is no self-serve retail access.
Contract & terms
Contract terms, duration, maintenance fees, and refund policies are not published. Kiln operates via sales onboarding, and all contractual details are negotiated individually. Payout frequency, thresholds, and commission structures are undisclosed. Minimum stake is 32 ETH for dedicated validators; no USD equivalent or fiat minimum is confirmed. Termination terms and exit procedures involve multi-week validator exit queues and NFT-based withdrawal steps, as noted in user reports.
Proof & verifiability
Kiln provides partial proof through a SOC 2 Type II attestation (renewed June 2026) covering security, availability, and confidentiality controls. However, there is no third-party audit of its fee calculations or claimed 0% slashing record. The fee model remains undisclosed, and while Kiln claims non-custodial setup, community reports suggest it may hold withdrawal keys - contradicting self-custody assurances. On-chain payouts are not publicly verifiable by users.
Reliability & history
Kiln is regarded as a top-tier institutional staking provider with transparent incident reporting and strong compliance credentials. However, the September 2025 security breach - where a compromised GitHub token led to unauthorized Solana fund movements and the forced exit of all Ethereum validators - damaged trust. Reddit threads report confusion over withdrawal processes and concerns about key custody. Despite SOC 2 certification and forensic transparency, the lack of fee disclosure and unresolved custody questions remain red flags.
Pricing
Kiln does not publish fees; pricing is available only through direct sales contact. The site advertises gross reward rates (e.g., ETH 2.6%, SOL 6.5%) but does not disclose net returns or commission splits. A Reddit thread claims 0% on consensus-layer rewards but ~80% on execution-layer rewards - unverified. Minimum stake is 32 ETH; no USD entry point is listed. Payments are via institutional onboarding, likely involving fiat and on-chain transfers. KYC requirements are not publicly detailed but implied for enterprise clients.
Verdict
Kiln is a credible option for institutions with the resources to conduct full due diligence, given its SOC 2 compliance and transparent incident handling. However, the lack of published fees, unresolved custody concerns, and past security incident make it a high-trust, low-transparency choice. Retail users should look to audited, fee-transparent staking providers instead.
++ What works
Named French entity (KILN SAS) with public legal page
SOC 2 Type II renewed 2026 with zero exceptions (Insight Assurance)
Claims 0 slashing events and $18B+ assets delegated (ATH)
Detailed, root-caused disclosure of the 2025 security incident
Slashing coverage offered via Nexus Mutual (per FAQ)
-- What to watch
Fees/commission not published; pricing is contact-sales only
Community reports a very high execution-layer fee (0% CL / ~80% EL, unverified)
Non-custody claim disputed: former user says Kiln holds withdrawal keys on dedicated staking
September 2025 incident: one enterprise client lost Solana funds; all ETH validators force-exited
Status page showed minor degradation on 2026-09-24
Institutional onboarding rather than self-serve
Pricing reality check
Documented price
$18
Notes
No fees published; pricing is contact-sales only. Site markets 'the lowest fees' and shows gross reward rates (Ethereum 2.6%, Solana 6.5%, Atom 20%, and others). A community thread (r/ethstaker, 2026-02-14) reports 0% on consensus-layer rewards but ~80% on execution-layer rewards - UNVERIFIED and not confirmed by any official Kiln page. Dedicated Ethereum validators from 32 ETH. No verified dollar price recorded.
Based on our checks as of 2026-09-24: Kiln scores 6/10 in our weighted review. We logged 2 red flags (listed above). User reports and operator background are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.
What do I actually get when I stake with Kiln?
You delegate stake to Kiln-operated validators on PoS networks. You do not own hardware. Kiln claims non-custodial setup, but user reports suggest it may control withdrawal keys, limiting true self-custody.
What are the total costs and fees?
Fees are not published. Kiln markets gross reward rates but does not disclose net returns or commission splits. A Reddit user claims 80% fees on execution-layer rewards - unverified. You must contact sales for pricing.
Is there a minimum or trial option?
Minimum stake is 32 ETH per dedicated validator. There is no trial or retail onboarding; access is via institutional sales contact only.
How do payouts work?
Payout frequency, thresholds, and mechanics are not publicly disclosed. Rewards are distributed in the staked coin, but net returns depend on undisclosed fees deducted from gross rewards.
What happens if Kiln shuts down?
In 2025, Kiln exited all Ethereum validators after a security incident. Withdrawals take 10-42 days plus up to 9 days to claim. If Kiln disappeared, access to funds could depend on whether you truly control withdrawal keys.
How does Kiln compare with buying the coin or staking directly?
Buying coins gives full custody. Direct staking (e.g., solo) offers transparency but requires technical work. Kiln offers managed service but with opaque fees and custody risks - only suitable if you can verify their setup.
// The meta-review: what the internet says about Kiln
We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit, forums and complaint boards, and who actually operates Kiln. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.
// What other reviewers say (0)
Heads-up: most cloud mining "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.
No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are paid placements.
// What users say (4)
Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but payout complaints and host-reliability patterns are the best early-warning system this market has.
User withdrawing a Kiln position via Ledger is confused by the NFT-minting step and by exit-queue waits (reports of a week to 40 days). Illustrates withdrawal-process complexity rather than misconduct. Reddit 403 to this host; via pullpush.io.
A user staking 96 ETH compares Kiln and Figment and reports Kiln charges 0% on consensus-layer rewards but '80% fee on execution layer rewards' (asked whether correct). Community-reported and unverified against official pages. Reddit 403 to this host; via pullpush.io.
A former Kiln user says they were happy until the 2025 security incident forced withdrawal of all validators, and states Kiln holds the withdrawal keys for dedicated staking, so if Kiln were hacked or disappeared the user could not pull stake out. Reddit 403 to this host; via pullpush.io.
r/ledgerwallet thread titled 'ETH from Kiln.fi gone!' (title only captured; root cause and resolution not verified in this pass). Reddit 403 to this host; via pullpush.io.
// Who is behind Kiln?
Cloud mining ownership is often deliberately opaque. This is what we could verify - with sources. Confidence: high (checked 2026-09-24).
Operator
Kiln
Legal entity
KILN SAS
Registered in
France
Other sites run by the same operator/network:
Kiln
Kiln Validators
Kiln Onchain
Kiln Widget
Kiln DeFi
Kiln Connect
Validator Watcher
Legal page states the site is published by KILN SAS, a French simplified joint-stock company (share capital EUR 7,209.48), 17 rue Henry Monnier, 75009 Paris, RCS Paris 839 230 125, VAT FR00839230125. Co-founders Laszlo Szabo (CEO) and Ernest Oppetit (CPO). Operating 'since 2018'.
Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact.
No comments yet - be the first. Posting runs a short proof-of-work in your browser (anti-spam), no account needed.