Walrus (Mysten Labs) Review

The most transparent decentralized storage product reviewed - explicit USD pricing and verifiable availability - but billing on ~4.5x encoded size plus 64 MB per-blob metadata makes raw-byte and small-file storage much dearer than the headline rate, and Walrus has no encryption, no region control and no public mainnet upload path.

no KYC provable open source self-custody
6.9
no user ratings yet - be the first
Visit Walrus (Mysten Labs) Read full review visit link may be affiliated

// Review

by the bestcloudmining editorial desk · review version 2 · prose updated 2026-09-24 · facts as of 2026-09-24 · how we verify

Overview

Walrus, built by Mysten Labs on Sui, offers decentralized blob storage with fixed USD pricing at $0.023/GB/month billed on encoded size. It’s for developers needing verifiable, Sui-integrated storage without KYC. The catch: billing inflates costs significantly due to 4.5x erasure encoding and 64 MB per-blob metadata overhead.

What you can rent

You can rent decentralized blob storage on the Walrus network, which runs on Sui. You store data via CLI, HTTP API, or SDKs, and pay in WAL tokens plus SUI gas. You do not rent physical hardware or get dedicated compute. Storage is public by default - no native encryption - so you must encrypt data client-side. Small files are expensive due to metadata overhead.

Contract & terms

Contracts are flexible with a 14-day term and a maximum prepaid duration of 2 years (53 epochs). There is no maintenance fee, but no refunds: deleting a blob forfeits all paid WAL, and only a SUI storage rebate is reclaimable. Payouts aren’t applicable - this is storage, not mining. Minimum purchase is not specified, but billing starts immediately upon upload.

Proof & verifiability

Yes, Walrus provides on-chain proof of data availability through Sui, including availability certificates and inconsistency proofs. You can verify that your blob is stored and accessible via the network’s consensus. However, this does not prove confidentiality - data is public by design, and verification relies on the honesty of 2/3 of shards.

Reliability & history

Walrus has a strong reputation as a Mysten Labs-backed project with active development, open-source code, and public documentation. It launched around March 2025 and reports 356 TB of active data. No red flags are known, but independent reliability testing is scarce. The operator is the Walrus Foundation, a Cayman Islands not-for-profit, and the code is actively maintained.

Pricing

Pricing starts at $0.023 per GB per month, billed on encoded size (~4.5x the original data plus 64 MB per blob). This means raw data costs about $0.105/GB/month. You pay in WAL tokens, with SUI gas for transactions. There’s no fiat payment option, no KYC, but no refunds. Small blobs are disproportionately expensive due to metadata.

Verdict

Walrus is a transparent, technically sound option for Sui-ecosystem developers needing verifiable decentralized storage without identity checks. But the real cost is much higher than the headline rate for small or raw data - factor in encoding and metadata. Not for private or cost-sensitive use without client-side encryption and batching.

++ What works

  • Published, USD-pegged $0.023/GB/month pricing with worked cost math and a calculator
  • Live mainnet since ~March 2025, 1000 shards, very active development by Mysten Labs
  • Verifiable availability: on-chain certificates, inconsistency proofs, 2/3-honest guarantee
  • Mature docs with CLI, HTTP API, TypeScript SDK and Walrus Sites/Memory products

-- What to watch

  • You pay for ~4.5x encoded size plus a fixed 64 MB per blob, so effective raw-byte cost is ~$0.10/GB/mo and small files are very expensive without Quilt batching
  • All data is public by default with no native encryption and no way to choose a node/region/jurisdiction
  • No public unauthenticated publisher on mainnet; production uploads need your own publisher, relay or SDK
  • WAL/SUI only, no fiat path; no SLA, no durability nines, no independent durability audit found

Pricing reality check

Documented price$0.023 per GB/mo · $0.105 per GB/mo of raw data (approx, 4.5x encoding; 1 GB blob -> ~4.56 GB encoded)
NotesFixed USD-denominated $0.023/GB/month paid in WAL (announced 2026-05-13). Billing is on the ENCODED size: ~4.5x the original blob plus a fixed 64 MB of per-blob metadata, so raw-byte cost is ~$0.10/GB/mo and small blobs are metadata-dominated. SUI gas is charged separately for up to 3 transactions per store, plus a WAL write fee. Worked docs example: 50 GB kept 1 year = ~225 GB encoded = ~$62.

Run the long math before paying: cloud mining calculator →

Ready to try Walrus (Mysten Labs)? Start small, verify one payout, and only scale up once the hashrate or compute actually matches what you paid for.

Visit Walrus (Mysten Labs) or compare all providers →

// Walrus (Mysten Labs) FAQ

Is Walrus (Mysten Labs) legit?

Based on our checks as of 2026-09-24: Walrus (Mysten Labs) scores 6.9/10 in our weighted review. We logged no red flags. User reports and operator background are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.

What do I actually get when I pay?

You get decentralized blob storage on Sui with verifiable on-chain availability. Your data is public by default, so you must encrypt it yourself. You do not own hardware or get private hosting.

What’s the total cost and are there hidden fees?

The base rate is $0.023/GB/month billed on encoded size (~4.5x original data plus 64 MB per blob), so raw data costs ~$0.105/GB/month. Plus SUI gas and WAL write fees - no refunds on deletion.

Is there a minimum purchase or trial?

There’s no stated minimum, but billing starts at upload. No free trial is documented. You pay in WAL and SUI, with no fiat option.

How do payouts or refunds work?

There are no payouts - this is storage, not mining. Deleting a blob does not refund WAL; only a SUI storage rebate is returned. No refunds under any circumstances.

What happens if Walrus shuts down?

If the network fails, your data may become inaccessible. Availability requires 2/3 honest shards. There’s no compensation - your risk is total loss of stored data and paid fees.

How does this compare to buying storage or hardware directly?

Walrus avoids hardware ownership but costs more per usable GB than centralized or self-hosted options. Unlike buying a hard drive, you pay ongoing fees and get no resale value. For private data, direct encryption and hosting may be cheaper and safer.

// The meta-review: what the internet says about Walrus (Mysten Labs)

We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit, forums and complaint boards, and who actually operates Walrus (Mysten Labs). Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.

// What other reviewers say (0)

Heads-up: most cloud mining "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.

No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are paid placements.

// What users say (1)

Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but payout complaints and host-reliability patterns are the best early-warning system this market has.

reddit.com/r/sui neutral

Walrus Sessions 8: Chatbots That Remember

Promotional thread announcing $2,500 in WAL prizes for an agent-memory hackathon; no independent storage testing. Retrieved via pullpush.io.

source dated 2026-09-19 · verified by us 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200 · unverified / anonymous source

// Who is behind Walrus (Mysten Labs)?

Cloud mining ownership is often deliberately opaque. This is what we could verify - with sources. Confidence: medium (checked 2026-09-24).

OperatorWalrus Foundation (protocol built by Mysten Labs)
Legal entityWalrus Foundation
Registered inCayman Islands

Other sites run by the same operator/network:

  • Walrus
  • Walrus Memory
  • Walrus Sites
  • Walrus Console

The Terms of Service name Walrus Foundation and are governed by Cayman Islands law; the Foundation is described as a not-for-profit. Marketing credits Mysten Labs (the Sui team) as the creator; the corporate relationship is not stated in a legal document.

// Sources & how this review was built

Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact.

  1. [1] community reddit.com/r/sui - Walrus Sessions 8: Chatbots That Remember dated 2026-09-19 · fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  2. [2] news coingecko.com - CoinGecko price - WAL dated 2026-09-24 · fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  3. [3] operator docs.wal.app - Walrus General Terms of Service dated 2026-09-01 · fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  4. [4] operator blog.walrus.xyz - Blog - USD pricing and one-year anniversary dated 2026-05-13 · fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  5. [5] operator docs.wal.app - Storage Costs fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  6. [6] operator docs.wal.app - Data Security fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  7. [7] operator docs.wal.app - WAL Tokenomics FAQ fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  8. [8] operator walrus.xyz - Network Release Schedule fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  9. [9] operator docs.wal.app - Getting Started fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  10. [10] operator github.com/MystenLabs - walrus repository activity fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  11. [11] operator walrus.xyz - Walrus About fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200

Initial database sources (pre meta-review):

// Rate Walrus (Mysten Labs)

Community score: no ratings yet

One rating per user and provider. Smoothed display (statistical prior) prevents single-vote manipulation.

// User comments (0)

No comments yet - be the first. Posting runs a short proof-of-work in your browser (anti-spam), no account needed.

// Similar providers

BNB Greenfield

BNB Chain storage side-chain: rented object storage at ~$0.031/GB/month (Sep 2026) with 4+2 erasure coding and S3-compatible gateways; not permanent.

6.7
no KYC
from $0.031 per GB/month (storage, Sep 2026 global price)
Decentralized storage storage 4 h ago

ar.io (AR.IO Network)

Arweave access + naming layer: independent gateways serve permanent data and ArNS names lease from ~$4.60/yr; protocol state runs on Solana.

6.6
no KYC provable
from $4.60 per year (9-char ArNS lease, live quote) min $2.30
Decentralized storage storage 4 h ago

Sia

Cheap decentralised storage with on-chain storage proofs and host collateral; hosted from ~$2/TB/mo, open market ~$1.1-3.3/TB/mo.

7.3
no KYC provable
from $2 per TB/mo
Decentralized storage storage 10 h ago