Lighthouse Review

A candid, well-documented IPFS+Filecoin onramp with an S3 API and useful encryption tooling, but it is an expensive reseller of decentralised storage with no disclosed legal entity, no SLA, and a Terms page that explicitly disclaims 'permanent' storage.

5.2
no user ratings yet - be the first
Visit Lighthouse Read full review visit link may be affiliated
Red flags (3):
  • T&C §1.4: 'permanent', 'perpetual' and 'stored forever' are explicitly not a guarantee of endless storage or retrieval
  • No disclosed company entity or registration number behind a paid storage service
  • No SLA and no published durability figure

// Review

by the bestcloudmining editorial desk · review version 2 · prose updated 2026-09-24 · facts as of 2026-09-24 · how we verify

Overview

Lighthouse is an active Singapore-based provider offering IPFS hot storage and Filecoin deal-making with an S3-compatible API (L3), encryption tools, and support for Walrus. It targets developers and projects needing decentralized storage with familiar interfaces. While it has operated since 2021 and integrates with trusted networks like Filecoin, it resells storage without disclosing its legal entity, offers no SLA, and explicitly disclaims any guarantee of "permanent" storage.

What you can rent

You can rent decentralized storage capacity on IPFS and Filecoin, with plans starting at 5 GB free and scaling to 2.5 TB on the Premium tier. Walrus storage is also available from 100 MB free up to 250 GB. Access is provided via SDK/CLI, IPFS HTTP API, S3-compatible API (L3), a dedicated IPFS gateway, and a web app. You do not get ownership of physical hardware or direct control over storage nodes - Lighthouse acts as an orchestration layer, and your data is stored as long as your subscription is active and deals are renewed on Filecoin.

Contract & terms

The contract term length is not specified, though subscriptions auto-renew monthly or annually unless cancelled via the Console. No maintenance fee is listed, and payout terms do not apply since this is not a mining or compute service. Refund policies are not stated, and the Terms clarify that “permanent” or “lifetime” storage refers only to the duration of the service, not indefinite retention. Minimum purchase is $0 for the free tier.

Proof & verifiability

Proof of storage relies on Filecoin’s blockchain-based storage proofs and IPFS content addressing (CIDs), which allow retrieval verification. However, Lighthouse itself publishes no independent proof-of-possession, durability metrics, or attestation reports. Its documentation states it is not a storage network but a routing and access layer atop them, meaning you must trust its integration with Filecoin and IPFS for integrity.

Reliability & history

Lighthouse has operated since 2021 and is used by projects like SingularityNET, with generally positive but sparse community feedback on ease of use. However, red flags include no disclosed company registration, no SLA, no published durability figures, and Terms that explicitly disclaim “permanent” storage. Reddit discussions show limited critical scrutiny, and while the operator has been consistent, the lack of legal transparency warrants caution for mission-critical data.

Pricing

Pricing starts at $12/month for 500 GB on Filecoin (Lite plan) or $11/month for 250 GB on Walrus (Lite). The Premium Filecoin plan is $49/month (2.5 TB), with annual billing offering ~17% savings. There is no minimum spend - free tiers are available. Payments are accepted via credit/debit card; “popular tokens” are mentioned but not specified, and no KYC is required. Third-party processors handle payments, and taxes are billed separately.

Verdict

Lighthouse is a functional onramp to IPFS and Filecoin with useful tooling and an S3 API, suitable for developers experimenting with decentralized storage. However, the lack of legal transparency, no SLA, and explicit disclaimers about permanence mean it’s not ideal for critical long-term archives. Consider alternatives with stronger accountability if data durability is essential.

++ What works

  • Operating since 2021 with a public T&C, docs, app, SDK/CLI and a live support channel
  • Offers both IPFS hot storage and Filecoin deal-making, plus S3-compatible access (L3) at s3.lighthouse.storage
  • Diverse payment options (credit/debit card or tokens on-chain) and monthly or annual billing
  • Encryption, token-gating (Kavach BLS threshold crypto) and IPNS available
  • Unusually candid Terms: 'permanent/forever' is defined as long-term preservation, not a guarantee
  • Active Filecoin ecosystem integrations (e.g. SingularityNET) and a Walrus storage option

-- What to watch

  • $12 for 500 GB = ~$24/TB/month, roughly 5x the flat Filecoin rate Fil One advertises
  • No legal entity name, registration number or address published; jurisdiction only inferred from Singapore governing law
  • No uptime or durability SLA at all
  • Terms disclaim 'permanent/perpetual/stored forever' and allow changing replication factors and migrating pins
  • Deleting a file does not erase content already propagated to third-party IPFS nodes/gateways
  • Brand focus shifted to an AI 'memory network', raising product-continuity questions for pure storage customers

Pricing reality check

Documented price$12 per month (500 GB plan) · $11 per month (Walrus 250 GB plan)
NotesFilecoin plans (monthly): Free $0 with 5 GB; Lite $12/month with 500 GB; Premium $49/month with 2.5 TB. Annual: Lite $120/year, Premium $499/year. Encryption/token-gating and IPNS are Premium-only; migration support is an add-on. Walrus plans (monthly): Free 100 MB; Lite $11/month for 250 GB. Observed on the official pricing page 2026-09-24 (the same figures also appear in the site's machine-readable pricing.md and llms.txt). Annual billing is ~17% cheaper than 12x monthly.

Run the long math before paying: cloud mining calculator →

Ready to try Lighthouse? Start small, verify one payout, and only scale up once the hashrate or compute actually matches what you paid for.

Visit Lighthouse or compare all providers →

// Lighthouse FAQ

Is Lighthouse legit?

Based on our checks as of 2026-09-24: Lighthouse scores 5.2/10 in our weighted review. We logged 3 red flags (listed above). User reports and operator background are documented with dated sources in the meta-review below.

What do I actually get when I pay?

You get access to managed IPFS and Filecoin storage with tools like an S3 API and encryption. You do not own hardware or have direct node control - your access depends on your subscription and Lighthouse’s continued operation.

What are the total costs and fees?

Plans start at $12/month (500 GB) or $11/month (Walrus 250 GB), with annual billing offering ~17% savings. No maintenance fees are listed, but taxes apply and are billed separately.

Is there a minimum purchase or trial option?

Yes, there is a free tier: 5 GB on Filecoin and 100 MB on Walrus. No minimum spend is required, and you can upgrade or cancel at any time before renewal.

How do payouts or data retrieval work?

This is not a mining or income-generating service - there are no payouts. Data retrieval is done via CID through IPFS, S3 API, or gateway, as long as your plan is active and deals are maintained on Filecoin.

What happens if Lighthouse shuts down?

If the service stops, your subscription access ends. Data may remain on Filecoin if deals are still active and retrievable by CID, but you’d lose the API, S3 interface, and management tools unless you migrate manually.

How does this compare to buying storage directly or using another provider?

Lighthouse simplifies IPFS/Filecoin use with developer-friendly APIs but at a premium. Buying hardware or using self-hosted solutions offers more control; other providers may offer better transparency or SLAs.

// The meta-review: what the internet says about Lighthouse

We do not expect you to trust us. This review is a meta-review: below you see what other review sites claim, what users report on Reddit, forums and complaint boards, and who actually operates Lighthouse. Every claim links to its source so you can verify it yourself. Our verdict forms from these sources plus our own fact checks - not the other way around.

// What other reviewers say (0)

Heads-up: most cloud mining "reviews" are affiliate content. We mark our reliability judgement on every source and include critical voices deliberately.

No third-party reviews with usable evidence found yet. In this niche that is itself a signal - most "review" sites are paid placements.

// What users say (2)

Reddit, forums, complaint boards. Anecdotes, not proof - but payout complaints and host-reliability patterns are the best early-warning system this market has.

reddit.com/r/ipfs mixed

Looking to get feedback for Lighthouse from IPFS community

The Lighthouse team solicited community feedback; replies were sparse and mostly about marketing and product positioning rather than a track record of reliability. Retrieved via pullpush.io; Reddit 403s this host.

source dated 2023-11-26 · verified by us 2026-09-24 · HTTP 403 · unverified / anonymous source

// Who is behind Lighthouse?

Cloud mining ownership is often deliberately opaque. This is what we could verify - with sources. Confidence: medium (checked 2026-09-24).

OperatorLighthouse
Legal entityLighthouse Storage (legal suffix and registration number not published)
Registered inSingapore (jurisdiction; operating base unverified)

Other sites run by the same operator/network:

  • Lighthouse
  • Lighthouse Storage
  • Lighthouse L3 (S3 API)
  • Lighthouse Memory

The Terms and Conditions contract with 'Lighthouse Storage (together with its affiliates)' and choose the laws of Singapore with SIAC arbitration seated in Singapore; no company suffix, registration number or street address is published. The brand presents as 'Lighthouse Web3' (LinkedIn X/Instagram handles lighthouseweb3) and is led by founder Nandit Mehra (Calendly contact). Operating since 2021 as an IPFS+Filecoin storage service; in 2026 the homepage pivoted to a 'memory network' for AI agents while the storage product continues.

// Sources & how this review was built

Every external source used on this page, with the date we fetched it. Methodology: how we verify. Sources disappear or change - if a link is dead, tell us via contact.

  1. [1] community reddit.com/r/Quareia - FYI you can make digital copies live forever on IPFS & Filecoin using 'perpetual storage' systems like Lighthouse dated 2025-01-25 · fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 403
  2. [2] community reddit.com/r/ipfs - Looking to get feedback for Lighthouse from IPFS community dated 2023-11-26 · fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 403
  3. [3] operator lighthouse.storage - Lighthouse Terms and Conditions (IPFS-hosted PDF) dated 2025-09-20 · fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  4. [4] operator lighthouse.storage - Lighthouse Pricing fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  5. [5] operator lighthouse.storage - Lighthouse machine-readable pricing fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  6. [6] operator docs.lighthouse.storage - Lighthouse L3 (S3 API) - Introduction fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  7. [7] operator docs.lighthouse.storage - Lighthouse L3 - Limits & Differences vs Amazon S3 fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  8. [8] operator lighthouse.storage - Lighthouse FAQs (machine-readable) fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200
  9. [9] operator lighthouse.storage - Lighthouse Storage product page (machine-readable) fetched 2026-09-24 · HTTP 200

Initial database sources (pre meta-review):

// Rate Lighthouse

Community score: no ratings yet

One rating per user and provider. Smoothed display (statistical prior) prevents single-vote manipulation.

// User comments (0)

No comments yet - be the first. Posting runs a short proof-of-work in your browser (anti-spam), no account needed.

// Similar providers

SealStorage

Toronto-based enterprise Filecoin storage at $5.99/TB/month or $65k/PB/year with three copies, free egress, SOC 2 + HIPAA.

5.6
from $5.99 per TB/mo
Decentralized storage Filecoin storage provider <1 h ago

Filecoin

Marketplace of independent storage providers proved by PoRep/PoSt; new Filecoin Onchain Cloud publishes a ~$5/TiB/mo managed warm-storage price.

7.3
no KYC provable
from $2.50 per TiB/mo per copy
Decentralized storage Filecoin storage provider 10 h ago